Reflection Week 2

What kind of parent do I want to be? Why?

If I were to be a parent, I would want to be an authoritative parent that encourages my child to be independent and self-reliant. I would like my child to be mature enough to make decisions on their own. I want my child to understand why I reprimand them by explaining the consequences of their wrong actions. I would want to raise my child in a manner that I can guide them by setting boundaries and being understanding when they fail.  An authoritative parent is a blend between authoritarian and permissive parenting style.  It is like flying a kite, in order to let the kite fly high you need to let go of the string but hold on to the reel tightly.  If you do not hold on tight, the kite might just fly away but if you pull too tight, the string might just snap.

#Weekly

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

